Mud, glorious mud

A visit to Israel that included a mud bath at the Dead Sea was the highlight of 1999.

My good friend, Keren, had invited me to spend some time with her in Israel.  At the time she was living at a kibbutz in the Negev Desert near Gaza and the border with Egypt.  Her house, a converted bomb shelter, was cool and comfortable.

We had her patch of Israel grassed while I was there.  There was a bottle of whisky involved, but that is another story………….

An amazing number of South Africans were living there, farming and turning the desert into fertile farmland.  In the afternoons, during the heat of the day, we would rest and as it got cooler people would set up tables under the trees and start preparing and eating their meals.

I remember having a glass of wine and a light meal under a magnificent moon.  Strange that the moon seems so much larger in the desert.

We visited, among other places, the Masada, the Dead Sea and the Sea of Galilee.

Author: valvs

I live in Umhlanga, Kwa Zulu Natal, South Africa. Much of my schooling was done in the Eastern and Western Cape. After I matriculated from Rhenish Girls' High in Stellenbosch, I went to Grahamstown Teachers' Training College. Most of my teaching was done in Margate and Durban. My hobbies are reading, traveling and photography.

Leave a Reply

